Posted by: julieanne | July 15, 2008

Branson, Day 3 (July 14)

Day 2 (July 13) in Branson was pretty uneventful, as we spent most of the day trying to figure out what were were going to do with Riley. Our resort doesn’t allow dogs, and I was not aware of this fact until we’d already left Nashville. I had most of Riley’s shot records, but not all of them. We did find a place to board him, but they wouldn’t take him until I could contact the vet and get his shot records on Monday. We ended the day with custard, which was really yummy.

We started Day 3 by dropping Riley off at his doggy resort.

branson 012
The people seemed really nice, and I think he’ll have fun. I saw some plastic toys and a baby pool, so he probably won’t even know that I’m gone. It was hard to leave him though. I can only imagine what it’ll be like when I have to leave my kids at school someday.

After dropping Riley off we headed to House of 1000 Clocks.

branson 014

I saw this store on Day 2, but didn’t get a chance to go in. And yes, that is a large cuckoo clock on the outside.

branson 015

You can wind it up and it makes noise while people dance around. I stayed inside the store for awhile, amazed by all the different clocks. Some were a bit bigger than others…

branson 013

Granted, I’m a small person at 4’9″, but still. This is a large clock. I think it cost around $11,000.

I ended up buying a cuckoo clock while I was there. Grandmommie had a cuckoo clock when I was growing up, and I’ve always wanted one. Here‘s a link to a clock that looks like the one I bought. It makes the traditional bird sound, but also plays 8 songs (4 American and 4 German). The best part is that I bought the last one, so I got a 15% discount because I was buying the floor model. Yay! I’m really excited about it.

We also went shopping at some of the outlets, then ended up back at the resort for a variety show put on by various performers in Branson. It was during this show that I realized that there are some really, really bad acts that are playing out here.  Anyway, I decided that I wanted to go see the Acrobats of China and the New Shanghai Circus. Their show was absolutely amazing. It was two hours of non-stop action, and it was amazing what these performers (most of whom looked pretty young) were able to do.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

