Posted by: julieanne | April 12, 2010

Chicago Day 2

One thing that Becca and I have in common is that we both enjoy our sleep time, and get worn out with too much activity. After the big city day on the first day, we decided to spend the second day hanging around the suburbs. We slept in, and I uploaded photos and worked on my blog post. We went to see Dustin at work briefly, and then went by a yarn store called Knit Happens. I didn’t initially plan to go to two yarn stores, but we saw this one as we were driving back from getting pizza. It’s down the road from Becca, which is pretty cool. It’s a newly opened store, and you can tell that she’s still getting stock in. It was laid out *very* nicely, and the owner shared that she used to design marketing layouts for big companies. It would definitely be a great place to sit and knit, with a big table and nice chairs right when you walk in, and plenty of open space. There are some good solid wool yarn lines, but the sock yarn was mostly self-striping. (This was actually a good thing, cause I’d already bought yarn the day before!) If you’re in the suburbs and need a good store, I’d encourage you to check it out.

After the yarn store I made my first ever trip to…

IKEA. That sound you heard on Wednesday mid-day? That was my head exploding. It had THREE stories, and was all around amazing. I saw some cube bookshelves that I really want for work, and I even knew where I would put them. I will definitely have to look into that when I have a little extra money. We wandered around there for a good while, and I really wish there was one in Nashville.

On the way home Becca showed me one of the places they had lived, and pointed out other things along the way. We decided to go home and eat leftover pizza, which I correctly predicted was already eaten by Dustin. 🙂 We went to an Italian pick your pasta place, which was really good. We sat and talked before heading back home.

We took naps (I know, we’re exciting), then sat around and had discussions until Dustin went to bed. I realized at this point that I hadn’t taught Becca to knit yet, so we pulled out all the stuff. She caught on very quickly, which was awesome. It’s so fun to see others learning and enjoying something that I enjoy so much!

I left early the next morning to head to Boston. The exciting thing about this flight is that they sent my boarding slip to my phone! It was pretty cool.

My trip to Chicago was fantastic, and I’m so glad that I was able to make it part of my spring break. Becca and Dustin are awesome, and I really hope that I get to visit them again soon.


Leave a comment

Categories